top of page
  • Writer's pictureAmy Southern

Vegan Chana Masala Curry

So recently I have seen a massive rise in vegan recipes floating around my social media feeds. I am definitely not a vegan myself, I love meat & my favourite foods consist mostly of fish! But I love to try new things & thought I would give it ago. My chosen recipe was a simple masala curry & after tasting this, I will definitely be keeping a look out for more meat free meals!


This vegan chana masala is a perfect dish for cold winter days when you feel like something comforting yet uncomplicated.


So here's what you'll need -

- 2 tbsp / 30 ml olive oil

- 3 garlic cloves

- 1 large onion

- 5 tsp of grated ginger

- 1½ tsp salt

- 2 tsp ground coriander

-1½ tsp hot chilli powder

- 4 tsp ground cumin

- 1½ ground turmeric

- 2 tsp garam masala

- 5 cups cooked chickpeas

- 2 x tins of plum tomatoes

- 2 tsp sugar

- 1 x garlic & herb stock pot

- Cooked basmati rice


How It's Done


Firstly heat up the oil in a heavy bottom pot. Chop your onion finely & fry this on a low heat until almost translucent. Finely chop your garlic, grate the ginger & add this to your onions. Keep on stirring gently until the onion is translucent, the garlic softens and ginger releases its aroma. Add all the ground spices to the onion/garlic/ginger mixture and stir them up well. Fry them off gently for a minute or two stirring the whole time as they burn easily. Add tinned tomatoes, chickpeas, half the salt and about 100-200 ml of water. Let the stew simmer gently for about 20-30 minutes for the sauce to thicken. While you are waiting for your sauce to thicken, boil the water for your rice, add the stock pot & stir for a couple of minutes. I don't like plain rice so tend to add a stock pot for extra flavour. Put the rice in the pan & boil until soft. Once the rice is soft & the sauce has thickened you are ready to serve.


I hope you have enjoyed reading & I hope to see some of you trying the recipe soon. Here are a couple of photos of my end product


Made with Love,

Amy xo






14 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page